Week 1

So this past week was my first week on Paleo.  I was planning to start strict as soon as my cooking gas got turned back on but since that is taking longer than I expected I decided to officially start now.  So it’s been about a week.  I have been doing smoothies for breakfast.  A recipe that I based off of a Juice Generation smoothie called Almond Joy.

  • Almond milk
  • Frozen coconut milk
  • Frozen banana
  • Cocoa nibs
  • Almond butter
  • Ice

I then use my magic bullet to blend it together to the desired consistency.  It is easy to do in the morning and pretty filling.

For lunches I have been doing salads from the Sunac across the street from me.  I do a mix of spinach and romain with beets, red onion, cucumber and tomato.  For dressing I do red wine vinegar and olive oil and salt and pepper.

Since I haven’t been able to cook in the evening I have either been grabbing something out for dinner or I have just been having an rx bar.  I’ll get on a better schedule once I have cooking gas and can do prep on the weekends.

So in case you are wondering, the story behind not having cooking gas is back in December there was a huge gas leak in my building and they have been working to fix it ever since.  Now we are waiting for Con Ed to do some testing and turn the gas back on.  Then they have to come and plug my stove back in so I can use it.

As a solution, I used my slow cooker today to make flank steak and butternut squash in salsa.

img_0001

It was really good.  The steak just pulled apart with a fork.  I cooked it for about 7 hours before eating.  This is going to be lunch or dinner for a few days doing the week.  I’m going to do some additional cooking tomorrow.  I’m going to use my George Forman grill and then get a hot plate from the front desk and try out some new recipes.

So I’ve officially started now.  There is no going back at this point.  My goal is to really just get healthier, lose some weight and just feel better in general.  I’m at my best when I eat Paleo and after 2016 I need to feel better.  New year, new me.

Leave a Reply

