Week 2: Day 1

So today begins week 2 on paleo.  For breakfast I started with my normal smoothie.

img_0005

I decided at the end of last week that I was going to do some meal prep this weekend so I can have food for the week.  I did the crock pot meal yesterday and today I got a hot plate to try something new.

I started following Danielle Walker (Against all Grain) on Instagram when I joined a few weeks ago.  I saw a post about her new book “Celebrations” and some of the recipes and started to check them out.  One post was a picture of her spinach and artichoke dip and she mentioned to take the leftovers add chicken and cauliflower rice for a great casserole.  One of my favorite things growing up was chicken, broccoli and rice casserole and this sounded like a great Paleo substitute.  I immediately knew I wanted to try it so I bought the book.  I was disappointed when I came to find out that the recipe required an oven.  As I mentioned in my last post, I don’t have cooking gas due to a gas leak back in December (it’s been over a month with no cooking gas) so I don’t have access to an oven.  I knew I could get a hot plate so I decided to try to make the casserole in a little different way.  I made @againstallgrain’s recipe for creamed spinach, I grilled some chicken breast on my George Forman and then put it all together in the pot, added some artichokes and cauliflower rice.  Here is a picture of the final product.

img_0006

I don’t think I blended the cashew sauce long enough so it wasn’t as creamy as I would have liked but it was definitely good.  I also didn’t use the 3lbs of spinach that it called for.  I used about a pound and for this it was more than enough.  Also, I don’t think I could have fit any more spinach in the pot I was using.  And now I have lunch or dinner for a good portion of the week.

I would have loved to put this in the oven for a bit to cook after I combined everything together so I will try that next time as well as try doing this casserole with the spinach and artichoke drip.  I also think I might have to invest in a blender instead of the ninja set (not a ninja blender but part of the ninja chopping set) that I have so I can get a better consistency for the cashew sauce.

Overall, I think this recipe was a success.  It tastes good and that is a big part of it.  I have food for a bunch of days between this and the crock pot recipe from yesterday.  Hopefully both heat up well so they will make good leftovers.

So far week 2 is off to a good start.

Have a great week everyone!

Leave a Reply

