Week 3: Day 1

Sunday = meal prep day and chores day.  As soon as I woke up I got my crock pot dish going because it needed to cook for 8 hours and I wanted it done before 6pm.  Chicken with sweet potato in salsa (picture to come later this week).  It made my apartment smell so good as it cooked.

Once I got the crock pot going I took my time getting ready for the day.  I finally made my breakfast and around 11:15am I headed out for an open house for an apartment I was interested.  When I got home it was time to do laundry and clean up my apartment a bit.  I recently had a bunch of packages delivered so I needed to unpack everything, get rid of the boxes and just organize.  I accomplished that as well as my laundry and then it was time to cook my other dish for the week.  I got my George Forman out and took my skirt steak out from the fridge.  I heated up the George Forman than with the lid up, I cooked the steak.  It took two rounds on the grill to cook everything I wanted to and I still have enough leftover for a dinner one night this week.

Once the steak was cooked, I prepped my vegetables.  I cut up some broccoli and then in a pot on my hot plate I put some olive oil in and then pour some cauliflower rice and added the broccoli.  I then mixed it all together and covered it to steam the vegetables.  This didn’t work out so well as the rice at the bottom of the pot burned.  Everything else cooked nicely but I’m not sure how it will all taste.  I then mixed the cauliflower rice and broccoli with the steak.  I also made the artichoke Chimichurri  from Jenn @pretend_its_a_donut.  I plan to use the Chimichurri as the sauce for my “rice”, broccoli and steak.  It tasted good after I made it.  The Chimichurri tasted good, we’ll see how it holds for the week and mixes in with the dish.  I’ll post a picture when I eat it.

For dinner tonight I decided to treat myself.  I ordered from Bareburger and I got a beef burger with pickled red onions, tomato and guacamole wrapped in collard greens…Yum!  I also got an order of sweet potato fries (gluten free and I believe cooked in acceptable oil).

img_0015

This was a treat as I don’t order from there very often as it’s kind of pricey and they charge a delivery fee.  It was delivered quickly though.  It wasn’t piping hot but I wasn’t surprised.  It’s kind of cold outside and it was raining.  It was still warm/a little hot and it was still very good.  Their beef patties are so well seasoned and the pickled red onions and guacamole really add great flavor as well.  The collard greens is just a bonus and so much better than having to eat the burger without a bun and with a knife and fork.  Sometimes you just want to bite into a burger and without something to hold it that is hard.

So that was my day.  I’m ready for the week to begin and I feel like I’m well prepared for another successful week.  Hopefully everything taste as good as it looks.

Hope everyone has a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

