Week 5: Day 1

So I know I’ve been MIA.  It was a busy week last week.  I managed to stay on plan despite being busy, stressed and sick for a good portion of the week.  I maybe didn’t do the best I could but I managed to stay paleo and not cheat (even though there were times all I’ve wanted is a slice of pizza).

Things are starting to get harder. I’m starting to want quick fixes and not wanting to cook every meal.  I thought maybe it was because I didn’t do a good meal prep last weekend which may be the case.  I made chili last weekend which was good but it was causing me to have really bad burning in my throat and chest when I ate it.  That caused other problems so I was left having to cook something at every meal as I didn’t meal prep anything else.

The good news is my cooking gas got turned back on on Tuesday so I know how full use of my stove and oven.  No more having to cook on a single hot plate.  The first thing I made was sweet fries and a scrambled egg with spinach and salsa.  The sweet pies are what I was really craving.

img_0025

My sister makes a version of these sweet fries when I go over to her house for dinner and I love them so I figured I had one sweet potato left I would treat myself and make them myself.  They were really good and hit the spot.

I did a lot of eggs the rest of the week as that seemed to be one of the few things I could eat.  I tried to drink a lot of water and move as much as possible but I really wasn’t feeling well.  This week my goal is to try to get back on track.  Depending on how this week goes I might try a meal planning website going forward to help me get creative with meals and help provide me with a plan.  I just don’t have the time to plan everything during the week and I need to plan ahead so I get my fresh direct delivery in time for meal prep.  I’ve heard the site Real Plans is pretty good and has a lot of options for recipes.  I’m going to see how this week goes and then make a decision.

Today for meal prep I made Against All Grains Spinach and artichoke dip and added cauliflower rice and chicken.  It came out so well.  After my last attempt at this I invested in Ninja professional blender.  It worked perfectly in creating the creamy cashew cream for the dish.  Definitely a worthwhile investment.

img_0026

I had this for dinner and it was really good.  I’m sure it will taste as good for meals throughout the rest of the week.

So this week the goal is to get back to a plan.  Eating my three meals a day and not snacking or taking short cuts (even paleo shortcuts).

I’m on phase 2 of the metabolic aftershock plan.  Last week was the first week of phase 2.  Because I was sick on Wednesday I missed the second workout of the week so this week I’m going to aim to hit all three of them and maybe even do something on the off days as well.  I had really bad back pain before starting metabolic aftershock and I can happily say that my back is significantly better.  I’m able to bend down and get up and down off the ground without pain.  I am able to lay on my bed on my back and be able to move when I want to.  This is all a great improvement to what I have been going through for the past 2 years with signifiant back pain due to a herniated disc that was extruded.  I started my recovery in physical therapy in October, November and December and once I was released from that in the new year I started these workouts and have gotten even better.  I couldn’t be happier and I think my doctor will be pleased when I see him next.

So again, sorry for being MIA last week.  I’ll try not to disappear again this week.  Hope everyone enjoys the Super Bowl tonight, eats some good food and has a good start to the week.

Leave a Reply

